The Australian Financial Review Women of Influence 2018 category winners revealed

A leading figure in the Australian #MeToo movement, the founder of a blockchain energy trading start-up and an expert in artificial intelligence and customer experience were among the women who were recognised in Sydney last night as part of this year's The Australian Financial Review 100 Women of Influence awards, presented by Qantas.

At a gala dinner at Sydney's Town Hall, 11 women received awards for their achievements across 10 categories, such as young leaders, board and management, public policy and diversity and inclusion. Megan Davis, UNSW Pro-Vice Chancellor, indigenous, was announced the overall winner. Naba Alfayadh won the young leader category.

More than 550 guests attended the dinner, including NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian, Fairfax Media chief Greg Hywood, White Gallery owner and philanthropist Judith Neilson, former Sex Discrimination Minister Elizabeth Broderick, former David Jones chief executive Paul Zahra and OzHarvest founder Ronni Kahn.

Other guests included ACOSS chief executive Cassandra Goldie, director Belinda Gibson, Rosemary Sinclair, chief executive of Energy Consumers Australia and UNSW deputy Vice-Chancellor, international, Iain Watt.

The awards are in their sixth year and were this year expanded to include an Alumni Projects program, an initiative designed to galvanise the 600 award-winning influencers, who have been recognised over the years in the 100 Women of Influence awards.

So far, there are two projects in train – the Catch-Up project is a pilot program aimed at securing futures for vulnerable older women, and Women for Election Australia works with school-age girls to encourage and inspire them to think of politics as a career.

Category winners

Young leader: Naba Alfayadh

Board and Management: Jingmin Qian

Social Enterprise and Not For Profit: Tanya Jackson-Vaughan and Tracey Spicer

Arts, Culture and Sport: Anne Bunde-Birouste

Public Policy: Megan Davis

Diversity and Inclusion: Catia Malaquias

Global: Kate Swaffer

Business and Entrepreneur: Dr Catriona Wallace

Local and Regional: Aunty Gail Allison

More details about the winners are here.


Margaret River Mail


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button